Saturday April 19, 2014
Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: I'm no expert but- Ideas for stage presence.

I'm no expert but- Ideas for stage presence. 2 years 6 months ago #36205

Your use of the space:
The athlete is never alone on stage. Even if you’re the only person on stage, you always have an intrinsic relationship to the space. High status athletes allow their body and their energy to open, and expand into the universe whereas the posture of low status athletes shrink up. Expansion is a manifestation of trust and vulnerability. If you’re open, you’re putting yourself at risk, and we love that shit. Ask yourself these questions, how do you usually relate to the space around you? What is your level of awareness of how your body moves through the space?
Practice your routine with a blindfold on, and you’ll see what I mean about your relationship to the space! :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: I'm no expert but- Ideas for stage presence. 2 years 5 months ago #36333

• admin
  • Administrator
  • Manager / Webmaster
  • Thank you received: 28
First of all,,, I miss you and hope to see you back at Lift for Life. You bring a different background and perspective.

Anyway,, I was just thinking about one of your earlier comments about how to get the audience to look where you want them to look. I've seen many athletes point to their bicep or glutes when simply focusing their own gaze toward the desired body part would lead the audience to look where the athlete is looking.
Houdini used this technique once while preforming an escape in broad view of the audience. He continually stared at a distant object and one by one the audience followed suit. He then completed the escape while their attention was diverted.

Brilliant!
Lift for Life - Natural Bodybuilding at it's Finest!
www.liftforlife.com

Re: I'm no expert but- Ideas for stage presence. 2 years 5 months ago #36335