Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: muscle gain + fat loss workout juggling

muscle gain + fat loss workout juggling 2 years 8 months ago #35598

• khamil8686
  • New Trainer
  • Thank you received: 1
This is my first time posting :)
Overall my goal is to become bigger and stronger, i do hypertrophy/strength programs, eat 3k cals/day @ 6 meals/day but want to make sure my body fat doesnt cover up all my hard work! So im currently on a fat loss program where i eat 2.5k cals/day @ 6 meals/day and the program has 3x 4 week parts. Since i dont want my gains to deteriorate, should i do 1 part of the fat loss program, get my body fat % measured, and judge from that measurement if i should switch to strength/hypertrophy or continue to part 2 of the fat loss program? Or should i just do the 3 parts of the fat loss program in a row and get my body fat measured at the end? I want to get rid of body fat but dont want to lose too much muscle in the process. Do fat loss programs increase catabolism? Thank you!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: muscle gain + fat loss workout juggling 2 years 8 months ago #35599

• admin
  • Administrator
  • Manager / Webmaster
  • Thank you received: 28
Hello and welcome to Lift for Life,

Most diets are a bit catabolic but they don't have to be. At 2,500 cals/day you are likely at or above maintenance depending on caloric expenditure. The trick to minimizing muscle loss when cutting is to reduce the bodies need for internal sources of amino acids which means frequent protein intake. Additionally, supplementing with L-glutamine has a muscle sparing effect and is a relatively inexpensive insurance policy against muscle loss.

I consider Cytrainer (another member on this board) to be more up to date in this area than I and will hold further comment until I see what he has to say.

Thanks for joining!
Lift for Life - Natural Bodybuilding at it's Finest!
www.liftforlife.com